The topic of abortion remains one of the most controversial from the point of view of the law because the legality of abortion varies in different countries. In the USA, the situation is even more confusing because interpretations vary from state to state. Moreover, information about the functioning of abortion centers is rapidly becoming outdated.
In this article, we will tell you which abortion centers should be avoided and which ones can be contacted, and also discuss which states are allowed to have an abortion and which are not.
Before listing platforms for finding abortion centers, we should mention that if a woman decides to have an abortion, it is best for her to avoid Crisis Pregnancy Center. The main purpose of these centers is to dissuade a woman from having an abortion. At the same time, the staff of the center very often misinform people about the risks of abortion and its consequences. They also resort to dirty methods of psychological pressure.
Information about the work of a particular abortion center becomes outdated very quickly, so in this case, it is best to search for abortion centers through special search engines.
Here is their list:
- National Abortion Federation
- Abortion Clinics Online Directory
- Planned Parenthood
Legality by State
Now, we will talk about the laws of various states regarding abortion and the requirements.
The list of states in which abortions are legal in two cases – as long as the fetus is not viable or if there is a threat to the mother’s life – includes Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, Virginia, Michigan, Minnesota, California, Montana, Washington.
In the following states, abortions are allowed until a certain week, or there is a threat to life:
- Abortions are allowed for up to 6 weeks in the states of Georgia, Tennessee, Ohio, and Idaho.
- Up to 10 weeks in Wyoming state.
- Up to 15 weeks in Florida and from September 2022 in Arizona.
- Up to 18 weeks in Utah.
- Up to 20 weeks in North Carolina.
- Up to 22 weeks in the states of South Carolina, West Virginia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Nebraska, and North Dakota.
- Up to 24 weeks – New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, and Nevada.
Arkansas, Louisiana, Kentucky, Missouri, Oklahoma, and Texas are all banned from performing abortions. On the contrary, there are no restrictions on abortions in New Jersey, Vermont, Washington, D.C., New Mexico, Alaska, Colorado, Hawaii, and Oregon.
In Alabama, abortions are prohibited, but they can be done if there are threats to the mother’s life. In Mississippi, South Dakota, and Wisconsin, abortions are allowed only if the pregnancy is the result of incest or rape.
Moreover, in some states, there are additional conditions, for example, the availability of parental consent or a 72-hour waiting period set by the state for an abortion.